homestead is one of the Waikato's best kept secrets. Glengariff has been
home to three Members of Parliament, and has been an integral part of the
history of the Waikato.
The property (then called "Fernside") was
purchased by Mr Edward Lake in October 1876.
Kauri logs were shipped up the Waikato River and
unloaded at Pukerimu landing nearing the Kaipaki School, and builder
Samuel Sheldon erected the homestead in 1877. Lake's landholding was 1,170
acres, and his land was reported to be "among the very best in the
Waikato" and "farming was carried out on a large and scientific
scale". He established apple and pear orchards, and grew wheat and
oats. As the employees on the property increased, a butchery, blacksmith
shop, stables, grain and potato stores were built around the house.
Lake sold the property to Louisa
Greenslade, wife of Henry Greenslade, who renamed it
"Glengariff". Glengariff is an Anglicisation of the Gaelic an
Gleann Garbh (which means "the rough glen", and the town of
Glengariff is located in County Kerry, Ireland, about 10 miles north of
Bantry at the head of Bantry Bay.
The original bell-tower was used to call farm employees
to lunch, and in later years to announce bowling games in summer.
During the period when Henry and Louisa Greenslade owned
the property (1900-1910) an annual race meeting was held on the property.
There were also large gardens, a bowling green and tennis court at that
Glengariff was neglected for a number of years, but
since the 1970's various owners have contributed to make Glengariff the
charming house it is today.